Is White Wine Vegan?

For the past three decades, many people have changed their diet and are moving away from meat products. A significant number of people now call themselves vegetarians or vegans.

Vegan White Wine

The majority of restaurants, hotels, grocery stores, and cafeterias ensure that they have non-meat options for their customers.

As to how many people in the USA are vegetarians or vegans, it is not exactly known but judging from questionnaires, it appears that at least five percent are vegetarians and three percent are vegans.

As awareness of the welfare and treatment of animals becomes mainstream, more people are turning away from meat. This vegan trend is also catching on fast with beverages, including alcohol, beer, and even wines.

But Is White Wine Vegan?

Commercial winemaking is a complex and time-consuming process. After crushing the grapes, one can make wine by allowing the fermentation process to occur naturally.

But this can take months and often the wine may be too acidic, astringent, or bitter. To improve the quality of wine, and enhance the color and taste, manufacturers add a variety of animal products, like casein, bone marrow, gelatin, egg white, isinglass, etc.

These animal products bind to the tannins and other protein molecules in the wine and precipitate (gel) them so that they can be filtered. By removing the tannins and other proteins, results in white wine which is clear, finer tasting, less acidic, and smoother.

Unfortunately, because these animal products are added to the winemaking process, the white wine is not vegan. The majority of white wine on the market is not vegan.

However, manufacturers are fully aware that there are a significant number of vegans and vegetarians who prefer white vegan wine. Hence, now there are non-animal products that are added to the wine to get rid of the tannins and improve the color, texture, and taste.

How Does One Know If One Is Consuming Vegan White Wine?

Unfortunately, there is no foolproof way of knowing if white wine is vegan. Labels on most wines today do not state if the beverage is vegan and the only way to know is to ask the seller. 

Our top-selling wines are guaranteed to taste great, pair perfectly and meet vegan-friendly needs. You could also enjoy vegan-friendly wines such as Villa Sparina Gavi di Gavi, Loveblock Whites, and Château de la Ragotière Muscadet Sur Lie black Label, among others. 

In general, white wine is more likely to be vegan compared to red wine. The more clear or transparent the wine, the more likely it is to be vegan. In the end, the only way to tell if white wine is vegan is to ask the merchant or order directly from Natura!